Tags

This is a sketch in biro of the lovely David Austin rose named after the British author ‘Mary Webb’. It’s a delicious rose, the softest of buttery yellows and heavily scented. Very profuse and it does grow rather tall canes, which can be a bit of a nuisance.

I have never read any of Mary Webb’s novels, but maybe I should. One of my favourite books, ‘Cold Comfort Farm’ by Stella Gibbons, was apparently a parody of Mary’s work. But you don’t need to have read the specific works to recognise the formula being parodied. It’s that gothic-romantic-rural set piece that has been used by many authors.

Also in the vase are pink windflowers, which are everywhere in the garden this year; and some foliage from the Hebe ‘Turkish Delight’, which has a burgundy tinge to the dark green leaves.

And here is a photo of Miss Scruffy, in case anyone was missing her:

Still with us and still bossing Scamp around, despite a cancerous tumour, which we were told was going to kill her at the beginning of last year. The vet calls her the miracle dog, and says she has no idea how Miss Scruffy is still alive and happy. She’s a little more doddery, and sometimes seems a bit lost. But every now and then, she’s like a puppy again, bouncing around our ankles and racing up and down the garden paths.

I hope I still have the energy to play when I am in my dotage.

