Tags

,

The things I do for you, Internet.

The broadband connection is still slowed at home, so once again I am going through a boring process of uploading and downloading at work to get some photos on this blog. WOW is of the devil, I tell you. Mind you, I would have loved it if it had been around when I was a teenager with hours to spare (WOW is World Of Warcraft, a massively multiplayer online role-playing game, for those of you who are blissfully unaware).

This is the red rose growing over the arbour. Actually, it’s quite a pinky-purply-red. Dare we use the M-word? Yes, it is almost magenta, that most vulgar of colours. Oh, the shame. But it’s nice and dark, not too bright, so I think we may get away with it. 

It looked very lovely before all the rain on the weekend battered it around a bit. It comes into bloom after the Banksia rose has finished. Which is fortunate, because magenta alone I can cope with, but magenta mixed with yellow? Yuck.

The standard roses are David Austin ‘Grace’; a deep apricot colour and lovely scent. They are getting top-heavy and starting to droop and the rain is making this worse. I must put in stronger and larger stakes to support them.

Hello, Scamp. Hello, Leo. Yes, of course I’m taking photos of you and not the garden again. The garden is of no interest to me at all compared to you. That’s right. Now go back inside, please, I’m just going to talk about you both. Really.

They’re gone, so lets talk about daisies. I’ve always loved the common white daisy bush. Such a simple flower, but so pleasing. And so forgiving of baking sun and lack of water- not that water is an issue right now. Daisies look very charming and old fashioned when planted with roses and lavender. But you must cut them back hard when the flowers are finished, or they do get straggly.

Another David Austin rose, ‘Charles Austin’, is tied to the west facing wall of the house. Despite the name, this is a very feminine rose, opening a strong apricot and fading to a soft pink. I like the colour against the terracotta painted mud-bricks.

Now stop distracting me from my work Internet, or I’ll get all behind and everything will go to hell in a handbasket around here, because that’s how important and necessary I am. Or then again… maybe I’m not. Is it coffee time yet?.

